Afrikalegburn - Cairo to Cape Town

Cairo to Cape Town Route and itinerary for Afrikalegburn

Lots of people have asked me if I have a route and itinerary, so if you’re interested and for what it’s worth, (given that it’s Africa and nothing will go to plan), I’ve attached it below.

I’ve cobbled it together using the regular(ish) Tour d’Afrique stage itinerary and the itinerary of Shayne Rookhuyzen who completed the trip in 2013/14. I am essentially following the Tour d’Afrique’s route as 1) there is a lot more information online around the route and the areas it goes through and 2) after 10 years of the Tour d’Afrique following this route down, I figure people/villages/police checkpoints etc will be more used to seeing a cyclist looking lost and asking which way is south. And what is that sandstorm doing coming this way.

So if anyone feels like a breezy sunny trip through Egypt or Sudan, the dates are below. Or Botswana or Namibia works too, always happy to have company!

You will notice there are a lot of times when it says ‘Camp’. This should be interesting given my woeful lack of actual camping experience. And cooking. Camping and cooking are not strengths that appear on my CV. They don’t even rank as weaknesses as that implies I have some knowledge of them. Anyway, I should probably practise my cooking-while-camping skills (read: watch youtube videos and save for offline use). Anyway Mark Beaumont on his solo World Record cycle down Africa didn’t have to camp once. Granted he was cycling 200-300km a day and had the talent and endurance to normally reach a town that could provide shelter in some form or another. I suspect I won’t be able to do that all too often, thus I am going to have to learn how to cook on the go. Tips and tricks welcome! 🙂

Also, if anyone has any contacts in the countries below and might be willing to put up with a smelly, sandy, underfed cyclist or who would be a good contact just to have, please let me know?!

Latest update: Ethiopia has just stopped issuing visas. Fantastic. My options are to swim around or head west into Chad and the DRC…

I have also just signed up for a 280km day coming in at around day 10 of the trip. The old military road from Aswan to Abu Simbel (near the Sudan border) alongside Lake Nasser has been re-opened and Mark Beaumont was one of the first cyclists to ride on the road last year and officially do the ‘complete’ Cairo to Cape Town route. Most people, including the TDA crew take the ferry down the lake. Mark put me onto a contact who will arrange a police escort to follow me. There’s only one snag. It’s 280km and you are not allowed to stop or camp. I am almost certain I don’t have 280km in my legs for one day, so should be an interesting day out!

Anyway…onto the very very very very flexible itinerary slash route that will change daily no doubt. 🙂

Proposed (rough) itinerary:

Day Date Town/Stop Distance covered Country
1 Thurs 17 Nov Camp 129km
2 Fri 18 Nov Camp 166km
3 Sat 19 Nov Camp 134km
4 Sun 20 Nov Safaga 94km
5 Mon 21 Nov Desert Camp 123km
6 Tues 22 Nov Luxor 107km EGYPT
7 Wed 23 Nov Rest Day 9 Cycling Days
8 Thurs 24 Nov Idfu 116km
9 Fri 25 Nov Aswan 113km 2 Rest Days
10 Sat 26 Nov Rest Day (Aswan)
11 Sun 27 Nov Ferry 17km
12 Mon 28 Nov Ferry – Wadi Halfa 3km
13 Tues 29 Nov Camp 185km
14 Wed 30 Nov Rest Camp/Tent 131km
15 Thurs 01 Dec Dongola 104km
16 Fri 02 Dec Rest Day
17 Sat 03 Dec Rest stop 144km
18 Sun 04 Dec Rest stop 167km SUDAN
19 Mon 05 Dec Khartoum – Blue Nile Sailing Club 218km 10 Cycling Days
20 Tues 06 Dec Rest Day
21 Wed 07 Dec Rest Day 3 Rest Days
22 Thurs 08 Dec Wad Medani 199km
23 Fri 09 Dec Village 190km
24 Sat 10 Dec Camp 129km
25 Sun 11 Dec Shehadi 124km
26 national hol Mon 12 Dec Gondor 157km
27 Tues 13 Dec Rest Day
28 Wed 14 Dec Lake Tana/Bahir Dar 168km
29 Thurs 15 Dec Finote Selam 174km
30 SA p/holiday Fri 16 Dec Dejen 153km
31 Sat 17 Dec Debre Libanos – Etho German chalets 128km ETHIOPIA
32 Sun 18 Dec Addis Ababa (Have contact?) 111km 12 Cycling Days
33 Mon 19 Dec Rest Day
34 Tues 20 Dec Rest Day 3 Rest Days
35 Wed 21 Dec Lake Langano – Overlanders Beach 215km
36 Thurs 22 Dec Yirga Alem 119km
37 Fri 23 Dec Gedeb 129km
38 Sat 24 Dec Yavello ( Shayne replaced tyres) 133km
39 SA p/holiday Sun 25 Dec Moyale 208km
40 SA/national hol Mon 26 Dec ? 89km
41 Tues 27 Dec Bubisa 124km
42 Wed 28 Dec Marsabit (Henry’s Camp) 48km
43 Thurs 29 Dec Rest Day
44 Fri 30 Dec Rest Day
45 Sat 31 Dec Merille (all offroad) 121km
46 SA/national hol Sun 01 Jan Madiba Hotel ? KENYA
47 SA p/holiday Mon 02 Jan Mera, Camp David (rain storm) 28km 9 Cycling Days
48 Tues 03 Jan Sagana 147km
49 Wed 04 Jan Nairobi, Jungle Junction (Have contact) 128km 4 Rest Days
50 Thurs 05 Jan Rest Day
51 Fri 06 Jan Rest Day
52 Sat 07 Jan Namanga River Hotel 170km
53 Sun 08 Jan Arusha 118km
54 Mon 09 Jan Rest Day (Arusha)
55 Tues 10 Jan Rest Day (Arusha)
56 Wed 11 Jan Rest Day (Arusha)
57 national hol Thurs 12 Jan Magugu School Camp 145km
58 Fri 13 Jan Katesh 94km TANZANIA
59 Sat 14 Jan Puma Bush Camp 119km 9 Cycling Days
60 Sun 15 Jan Game Post 104km
61 Mon 16 Jan Soccer Field Camp 114km 4 Rest Days
62 Tues 17 Jan Biti Manyanga 125km
63 Wed 18 Jan Makongolose Camp 120km
64 Thurs 19 Jan Mbeya 111km
65 Fri 20 Jan Rest Day (Mbeya)
66 Sat 21 Jan Karonga 162km
67 Sun 22 Jan Chitimba 92km
68 Mon 23 Jan Rest Day (Chitimba)
69 Tues 24 Jan Mzuzu 135km
70 Wed 25 Jan Luviri School 125km MALAWI
71 Thurs 26 Jan Kasungu 107km 7 Cycling Days
72 Fri 27 Jan Lilongwe 130km
73 Sat 28 Jan Rest Day (Lilongwe) 3 Rest Days
74 Sun 29 Jan Rest Day (Lilongwe)
75 Mon 30 Jan Chipata 152km
76 Tues 31 Jan Petauke 176km
77 Wed 01 Feb Luanga Bridge Camp 172km
78 Thurs 02 Feb Jehovah School Camp 124km
79 Fri 03 Feb Lusaka 104km ZAMBIA
80 Sat 04 Feb Rest Day (Lusaka) 6 Cycling Days
81 Sun 05 Feb Soccer Field Camp 157km
82 Mon 06 Feb Ruze Chalets 181km 3 Rest Days
83 Tues 07 Feb Victoria Falls 151km
84 Wed 08 Feb Rest Day (Victoria Falls)
85 Thurs 09 Feb Rest Day (Victoria Falls)
86 Fri 10 Feb Kasane 81km
87 Sat 11 Feb Construction Camp 171km
88 Sun 12 Feb Nata 145km BOTSWANA
89 Mon 13 Feb Bush Camp 184km 9 Cycling Days
90 Tues 14 Feb Maun 134km
91 Wed 15 Feb Rest Day (Maun) 1 Rest Days
92 Thurs 16 Feb Bush Camp 160km
93 Fri 17 Feb Ghanzi 140km
94 Sat 18 Feb Buitepos 207km
95 Sun 19 Feb Witvlei 162km
96 Mon 20 Feb Windhoek 159km
97 Tues 21 Feb Rest Day (Windhoek)
98 Wed 22 Feb Weissenfels Camp 114km
99 Thurs 23 Feb Solitaire 123km
100 Fri 24 Feb Sesrium 83km
101 Sat 25 Feb Betta 139km NAMIBIA
102 Sun 26 Feb Konkiep Lata 153km 10 Cycling Days
103 Mon 27 Feb Seeium 126km
104 Tues 28 Feb Canon Resthouse 93km 2 Rest Days
105 Wed 01 Mar Felix Unite Camp 170km
106 Thurs 02 Mar Rest Day (Felix Unite Camp)
107 Fri 03 Mar Springbok 122km
108 Sat 04 Mar Garies 119km
109 Sun 5 Mar Klawer 171km SOUTH AFRICA
110 Mon 6 Mar Picketberg 154km 5 Cycling Days
111 Tues 7 Mar Cape Town 130km
Total Days 111 Days
Total Cycling Days 86 Days
Total Rest Days 25 Days
Cairo to Cape Town Route Map

Cairo to Cape Town Route Map

Cairo to Cape Town Route Profile

Cairo to Cape Town Route Profile

For more information and how to donate check out https://www.givengain.com/ap/afrikalegburn/

#afrikalegburn #bhbikessouthafrica #shineliteracy

The amazing team at BH Bikes Cape Town

A Massive Thanks To BHBikes.com South Africa

This is such a big one! I am incredibly blown away and privileged to announce that BHBikes.com South Africa have come on board to help me take on and complete Afrikalegburn for Shine.

A relatively new brand on the South African bicycle scene, Ray Wilson leads an amazing and passionate team at the BH Bikes store in Diep River, Cape Town. BH Bikes will supply me with a bike for each of the challenges.

So that’s a Cyclocross bike for the Africa trip, a Road Bike for the CT Cycle Tour, a MTB for the Absa Cape Epic and finally a TT bike for the IRONMAN! Amazing! Ray and his team have a fantastic family atmosphere in the office and have already been incredible at this stage in the way they’ve backed the project, the charity goals behind it and have committed to making it all come together. So I can only say a huge thanks for now and hope that I can repay their faith and complete everything I’ve set out to do!

Admiring the BH Lynx Dual Suss.

Admiring the BH Lynx Dual Suss at the Diep River Cape Town store.

Born in 1909, BH Bikes have a super strong heritage and background in Europe and are based in Vitoria-Gasteiz, capital of the Basque Country, Spain. The Vuelta Espana (Tour of Spain) has been won twice on BH bikes and the notorious Alps d’huez has one of it’s bends named after a BH bike rider (Fede Etxabe).

They are currently being shown off on the 2016 Tour de France by the Direct Energie team, led by the very popular Thomas Voekler.

Thomas Voeckler's Ultralight frame for the Tour de France

Thomas Voeckler’s Ultralight frame for the Tour de France

BH G6 Pro South Africa

BH Lynx 4.8 29ER Carbon 9.7

I met Ray about a year ago on the regular round the mountain ride with the Cape Epic crew. He had just started to bring in BH Bikes and I could see how passionate he was about cycling and the BH brand in particular. Then I volunteered at this year’s Cape Epic and spotted Ray and his partner Mike on their BH Lynx’s.

So I went along to check out their store on Diep River main road to chat to Ray about the Afriklegburn project and was impressed by the quality of the machines on offer! Most notably the BH G6 Pro and the Lynx MTB 4.8 Carbon 29″! 🙂

Interestingly,  BH Bike’s biggest seller is their range of e-bikes:

The eMotion Range

BH Emotion Electtric Bikes

BH Emotion Electtric Bikes

BH now produce six different types of bike as part of the eMotion range- the Nitro, Revo, Evo, Evo AWD, Easy Go and Xenion. The Nitro and Easy Go, have rear motors, the Revo and Xenion have centrally mounted motors and the Evo and Evo AWD have rear / double motors.

Now with good experience in the electric bike market they are producing great urban, mountain and folding electric bikes on hub and crank driven motors.

Thank You BH Bikes South Africa

I’m very proud to represent BH Bikes in these challenges coming and thank you again to Ray and his team at BH Bikes for being so enthusiastic about the project!

I recommend getting down to their store and having a look:

Address: 228 Main Rd, Diep River, Cape Town, 7800, South Africa
Phone: +27 21 715 7182

 

Africa SPOT GEN3 Satellite Tracker

SPOT Africa Supports AfrikaLegBurn

My mom is over the moon.

I am hugely stoked and proud to announce that Spot Africa have come on board and will be furnishing me with the brilliant SPOT GPS Tracker Gen3 unit and I will be a Spot Ambassador for the duration of this project.

So now I will be able to live track my route as I make my way down Africa (you can all watch me get lost in real-time) and should, hold thumbs and cross fingers, anything bad happen, I am able to send out an SOS call no matter what country I’m in. Got that mom? I can also send out SMS’s! Brilliant! Just in the short time I’ve had to play around with the device, I think it’s brilliant and can see myself acquiring one on a more permanent basis.*

 

 

What exactly is the SPOT Gen3 Tracker you ask? Well, I’m glad you asked! The SPOT Gen3 is tracking motion-activated regardless of the level of tracking you choose (Basic, Unlimited or Extreme) and a vibration sensor tells your SPOT to send track updates when you are moving and to stop when you do. Which saves battery. And lives. And me in all likelihood.

 

Africa SPOT GEN3 Satellite Tracker

 

*I’m already letting this go to my head and think I am some sort of adventurer when the biggest thing I’ve done is survive a couple of days on a bike in Spain.

 

Just 2 coffees is 1 more book for Shine's understocket library

 

Flux Communications

Hello To Flux Communications!

I will admit I am new to getting a large initiative or expedition off the ground, but I think there are a few stages in the journey which cause you to really start to believe it might be possible. That it could actually work. When you realise that there are people that are silly enough to believe in you and are willing to support you to make the project happen.

So I’m quite proud and privileged to announce that the lovely Kelly and Katie at Flux Communications have agreed to come on board and partner with me on #afrikalegburn! Amazing. In their own words:

We think you’re crazy and have had too many knocks to the head, but we’d love to help with the initiative!

Having Flux Communications on board means all of a sudden I’m in the same sporting company of super athletes like Ryan Sandes and Ryan Stramrood (ha ha, no pressure)! But it’s fantastic to know that I have a PR team behind me who understands what I’m going to take on, who believe in the initiative and what I would like to achieve for Shine, Book-Dash and literacy in Africa as a whole.

Who Are Flux Communications?

Kelly and Katie - Flux Communications

Kelly and Katie – Flux Communications

Not everything that is big is better; Flux Communications is a small Publicity agency that has been operating in Cape Town for the past 9 years. The agency is run by the passionate and hardworking Kelly Burke and Katie Armstrong, who both have extensive experience in publicity, marketing and consumer relations.

With diverse current and past clients such as Ryan Sandes, Chris Bertish, Ryan Stramrood, Arabella Country Estate and Red Cross Children’s Hospital, I’m in good hands. 🙂

 

Just 2 coffees is 1 more book for Shine's understocket library

 

Shine

How It All Started

I’m a reluctant fundraiser. There I said it.

If someone asks me to support their cause, I very quickly move on. Ever since at school I was forced to raise a certain amount of money for Blisters for Bread, I have hated fundraising.  So I am very conscious that I am about to ask a lot of people for money. And probably on more than one occasion. But as someone said to me, I need to get over myself and just ask. If they don’t want to give, they won’t and that’s that. Fair enough.

So how did I come to get myself into this distinctly uncomfortable position? On my to-do list for many years I am ashamed to say, I have wanted to do something that wasn’t for me. It seemed like through my 30’s, everything was about me, about my career, my relationship, my marriage, climbing the social and financial ladder. All my goals were very selfish. So I started volunteering for Shine at the wonderful Zonnebloem Primary School in District 6 at the beginning of the year. Even though I am probably one of the youngest volunteers by a good few decades, I would encourage more of my peers to do this. You only have to commit to one hour a week and as such it is something that is quite easily worked into normal job routine. I do it every Friday from 9-10am, just think if it as a weekly morning meeting. But with kids. And books.

During this time I managed to secure an entry into next year’s ABSA Cape Epic, a MTB race that I have been wanting to tackle since the event started over 10 years ago. Not for nothing is it known as the ‘Tour de France’ of mountain biking stage racing. It’s also obscenely expensive at R35K per entry. It’s basically taken me 10 years to save up for the entry.

So having secured my entry, mortgaged my house and paid, I sat down to think about my training plan and realised with some horror that I had planned to move and work in London for the next year. Training for the Epic through a London winter was never going to happen. That’s when I had the bright idea to cycle home. THAT would be my training! Genius. Cairo to Cape Town has always been knocking about my head, it’s one of the world’s mythical journeys, no matter what your mode of transport. Mine was always going to be bicycle. I couldn’t afford a Landrover.

Then I worked out that next year’s Cape Town City Cycle Tour would be my 10th. It’s also the 40th anniversary of this iconic event and I am turning 40 this year, so that had to get added to the list. Another stupid idea that had been rattling around my head was wondering how hard it was to pull off a Cape Epic and an IRONMAN in the same year. So I checked the IRONMAN SA dates and it turned out the IRONMAN would be a week after the Epic! Yikes. But now I was on a roll and that got swiftly added to the list.

Then I thought, well since I’m taking all this on, I should try and make it a more meaningful journey and that’s where Shine came in. Which takes me back to the beginning of this story. I hate fundraising. Sigh.

So fundraising has become the 5th and hardest challenge. Help.

 

Just 2 coffees is 1 more book for Shine's understocket library